Offices of the sacked principal officers and suspended members of the Lagos State House of Assembly has been sealed up by the House.

Four lawmakers, comprising two principal officers and two members were sacked and suspended indefinitely, respectively through voice votes at plenary on Monday.

The two lawmakers, who were suspended indefinitely on Monday were Moshood Oshun (Mainland Constituency II) and Raheem Adewale (Ibeju Lekki Constituency II); while the two principal officers, also sacked same day, were Rotimi Abiru, former Chief Whip and Olumuyiwa Jimoh, former Deputy Majority Leader.

Compassng learnt that two principal officers removed on Monday have also been suspended indefinitely.

A source, who pleaded anonymity, said the principal officers had their offices sealed off because they had been suspended from the plenary.

Twenty six lawmakers had signed a letter calling for the removal and suspension of the affected lawmakers, that was read on the floor of the house by the Clerk in compliance with Rule 35 of the House.

The Speaker, Mudashiru Obasa, had said the officers were suspended indefinitely for alleged gross misconduct and other infractions that were against the rules guiding the House and its operations.“

He said, “It is on this notes that I invoke Orders 68, 71, (4)(a)(b)(11) and (111) of the Rules and Standing Order of the House in respect of gross misconduct and insubordination.

“Their actions can destabilise the House.’’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here