In its determination to curb further spread of coronavirus, the Federal Government has shut three international airports.

The airports shut are the Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano; the Akanu Ibiam International Airport, Enugu; and the Port Harcourt International Airport, Omagwa.

Announcing the shutdown order, the Director-General of the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority, NCAA, Capt. Musa Nuhu, said that the three airports would be under lock and key till further notice effective from March 21.

He however said that the Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport, Abuja, and the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos, would still remain open to operation.

Nuhu however added, “But no flight operations will be allowed from the 13 COVID-19 (Coronavirus) high-risk countries.”

In a related development, all federal universities, polytechnics, secondary and primary schools have been ordered shut nationwide, following the outbreak of Coronavirus.

Giving the shutdown order in Abuja on Thursday, the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Mr Sonny Echono, said the move was part of measures put in place to contain the spread of the disease.

Recall that the Federal Government confirmed four fresh cases of COVID-19 on Thursday, bringing the number of people with the virus in the country to 12.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here