*As Deputy Speaker Resigns

As the emergence of Hope Uzodinma of the All Progressives Congress, APC, as the Imo State governor continues to generate heated debate across the country, nine members of the Imo State House of Assembly have defected to the APC.
The defectors are from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP; All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA and Action Action, AA.

They include: the member representing Ideato North state constituency, Authur Egwim, AA; the member respresenting Nwangele, Chyna Iwuanyanwu, PDP; member representing Okigwe, Chidiebere Ogbunikpa, PDP; the member representing Nkwerre, Obinna Okwara, AA; and Onuimo representative, Paul Emeziem, also from PDP.

Others are members from Orsu, Ekene Nnodimele, the Minority Leader who also resigned his position, APGA; Ideato South, Johnson Duru, AA; Isu, Ngozi Obiefule, AA; and Ohaji/Egbema, Heclus Okorocha, PDP.

Speaker of the House, Collins Chiji, read their letters of defection at the plenary on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, the deputy Speaker of the House, Okey Onyekanma, has resigned his position.
His letter of resignation and that of the Minority Leader, were equally read on the floor of the House by Speaker Chiji during plenary on Tuesday, January 21.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here