The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, as the winner of the 2023 presidential election.

INEC made the declaration in the early hours of Wednesday, March 1, following the final computation of the results of the election, which was conducted on Saturday.

The chairman of INEC, who doubles as the Returning Officer for the presidential election, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, declared Tinubu winner of the polls at the International Collation Centre in Abuja.

He said that the former governor of Lagos State polled 8,794,726 votes, while the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, garnered 6,984,520 votes.

Coming third was the presidential candidate of the Labour Party, Peter Obi, who polled 6,101,533 votes, while the presidential candidate of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP, and former governor of Kano State, Rabiu Kwankwaso, had 1,496,687 votes.

Tinubu, Abubakar and Obi all won 12 states each, including the Federal Capital Territory, FCT, while Kwankwaso took only one state – Kano.

Pronouncing Tinubu as the winner of the election, Yakubu said, “That Tinubu Bola Ahmed of the APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and returned elected.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here