Ahead of the 2023 general election, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, in Oyo State has published the particulars of candidates for the 2023 gubernatorial and House of Assembly elections of the 18 political parties, as contained in Form EC9.

This was made known in a press statement signed by INEC’s Administrative Secretary, Biodun Onikate-Amosu, and made available to the media on Friday, July 22.

Onikate-Amosu stated that the newly published list of candidates was in line with both INEC’s scheduled timetable for the 2023 general election and the Electoral Act 2022, as amended.

He noted, “Section 29(3) of the Electoral Act 2022 provided for publication within seven days of the receipt of Form EC9. The published personal particulars of the candidates have been pasted at both INEC state office and all the area offices of INEC in all the 33 local government areas of Oyo State.”

The Administrative Secretary, therefore, used the opportunity to appeal to the general public to seize the opportunity to scrutinize the particulars of the candidates as published by INEC, adding that they could also seek judicial remedy for any noticed or observed violation of the statutes as provided for in Section 29 of the Electoral Act 2022.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here