…As Gov Inflicts Crushing Defeat On Opponents

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared the One State governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu as the winner of the October 10, 2020 governorship election in the state.

INEC Returning Officer, Prof Idowu Olayinka, declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, winner of the election with 292,830 votes.

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Eyitayo Jegede polled 195,791 votes, while Agboola Ajayi of the Zenith Labour Party, ZLP, scored 69,127 votes.

With this declaration, Ondo State Governor Akeredolu has secured a second term in office after inflicting a crushing defeat on his rivals in Saturday’s governorship elections, beating the runner-up with 87,050 votes.

The election was largely peaceful, though isolated incidents of violence were recorded and the exercise was generally acclaimed as credible.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here