The crisis rocking the executive arm of government in Ondo State seems far from being abated, with nine members of the state House of Assembly rejecting the purported removal of the Deputy Speaker, Rt Hon Ogundeji Iroju.

The Assembly members, who are against the impeachment moves against the Deputy Governor, Job Agboola Ajayi, and are also against the purported removal of Ogundeji included: Rasheed Elegbeleye, Suleiman Jamiu Maito, Adewale Williams-Adewinle, Festus Akingbaso, Ogundeji Iroju, Favour Tomomowo, and Tomide Akinribido. Others included Success Tuhurkerijor, and Samuel Edamisan,

Describing the impeachment as unlawful, as it did not meet the required constitutional requirements for the removal of the Deputy Speaker, the lawmakers argued that section 92 sub 2C of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended, requires two-third majority cum provisions of the rules and standing order of the House for the impeachment of the Speaker or his Deputy.

They averred that the same provision for the removal of Speaker and Deputy is provided for in section 9 (sub 1-IX) of the standing order of the House. It requires two-third majority for their removal.

They argued, “It must be known that there was no place sitting of the Assembly either at the plenary or parliamentary where the decision to remove Rt Hon Iroju Ogundeji took place.

“It must be noted that the impunity reign supreme in the Assembly where Rt Hon Bamidele Oleyeloogun presides.”

They argued that the action of some lawmakers in the Assembly was impunity taken to the highest level in a state governed by a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, SAN.

vote bimbo daramola for house of representatives ekiti north federal constituency 1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here