The All Progressive Congress, APC, has won all the 20 chairmanship seats in last Saturday’s local government elections in Ogun State.

Announcing the election results on Sunday, the chairman of the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission, OGSIEC, Babatunde Osibodu, at the commission’s head office in Abeokuta, said the total number of votes cast in the chairmanship elections in the 20 local government areas in the state was 396,641.

He said, “I want to say that the APC won all the chairmanship seats in the 20 local government areas in the state.”

The election was however largely characterised by low turnout of voters and logistic challenges at the early stage of the exercise in most council areas.

Osibodi said that results of the elections into all the 236 councillorship positions in the state would be released as soon as they were ready.

NAN reports that the elections, scheduled to hold between 8am and 2m did not start until 11am in most of the polling centres.

Some electoral officials were, however, on ground as early as possible in some of the polling units with the election materials.

They were, however, seen sitting idle waiting for voters, who were coming out in trickles.

Apathy also played out in other council areas like Ado-Odo/Ota and Ikenne council areas, in spite of the fact that the electoral officers were available.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here